God’s Provision is comforting

June 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

May 24, 2013.
In the Dominican Republic.

Father lead me through the valley of shadow of death and instruct me of where I need to go. I have become dependent on you and I know that only you can provide.

“When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.”
Psalm 94:19.

Yesterday evening our team was slack lining,  I wanted to check Facebook so I went away to where there was three bars of Wifi. I decided to message my sister and wish her a happy birthday on Facebook, when suddenly a friend text messages me to trade shifts next week on Thursday. Immediately anxiety and worry flooded my mind. I began breathing quickly with short breaths. I came back to the group to continue slack lining, but when I stood on the slack line and tried balancing my way across, I stumbled off due to my overwhelming anxiety. I walked away from the slack line and our team to calm myself down. I quieted myself and took many deep breaths, but nothing worked. I walked back to the group and huddled myself in a tight ball on some stairs. I tried rebuking the spirit of anxiety and of worry, but still nothing worked so I prayed to God.

God I have no power in what I do in my life and I have no control over what happens. I need to lean on you because you are the one in control. So God, I need you to provide for me. I need you to give me comfort. “When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.” Where is your comfort God? Please give me comfort. 

I found Nathan sit above me on the stairs. When he sat beside me, I knew God wanted to use Nathan for his glory. God was teaching Nathan to take initiation, to listen to God’s voice, and to use his gifts to comfort me. Nathan has been sitting there quiet for some time and in my mind, I said to him, “What are you going to do?” I decided to not ask him out loud. I kept silent and waited. A few moments later Nathan asked, “How are you doing?” I shook my head and said, “Not good.” Then he asked, “Do you need prayer?” I gladly accepted. He prayed for me and the moment he finished praying, all my anxiety and worries left me.

God took my suffering and he used it to teach Nathan to trust in Him. God used my anxiety to teach me to persevere  with prayer until I was met with comfort.

“Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God’s Provision is comforting at Through His Small Things.

meta

