Using my gifts with Maturity

June 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

My friend Amanda came to visit me from Snohomish.

We had a great discussion about gifts when I stumbled upon a revelation.
She said to me the other day that a few people in her last staffed Discipleship Training School felt a sharp pain in their neck as they walked passed a person. Their immediate response was to ask the person with this neck pain if they wanted prayer. Something like… “I felt a sharp pain in my neck. Can I pray for your neck?”

I remember a time when I was with a friend… my ankle started to hurt (a weak feeling) and I had thought my sprained ankle (which is now healed) was acting up again, but I discovered the pain I was feeling wasn’t from me. The pain was from my friend. My ankle ached so I asked my friend if their ankle was hurting. My friend replied, “I’m sorry.” My friend didn’t need to be sorry. It was God prompting me to pray for her, but I didn’t know what to do.

In that time I complained. I found this pain was connected to my friend and so the next step for me would be to pray for them. Pray for God to heal them. With feeling people’s pains, or emotions, I try to remind myself to pray for them. A simple healing prayer takes under 10 seconds. It doesn’t have to be complicated. I just need to trust that God will heal them.

Everyday I feel the burdens, struggles, wounds, and pains of the people who surround me. Everyday, it takes a huge responsibility to carry this gift forward, and to step out with boldness and faith to pray for them. Everyday, I need to give my burdens to God because he is the one who carries them.

I find it hard to pray for people when I’m in pain, but it’s not about how we feel, it’s about how God feels and it’s our duty to carry out His plans. I will take this gift and responsibility to use it to build up the people in God’s kingdom. 

I haven’t been using all my gifts with maturity, but I’m learning how to use them properly everyday!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Using my gifts with Maturity at Through His Small Things.

meta

