Hearing my small complaint

June 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

I was walking and talking with Heidi, my mentor, to a park so her daughter Elizabeth could play on the playground. As we came up to the entrance of the school grounds, I commented out loud, “There are so many people here.” My subconscious comment out loud sounded like a complaint. Heidi told me that we could go somewhere else, but I said it’s okay.

Heidi and I talked for about 7 minutes until we were interrupted by Elizabeth who came back from the playground saying, “Mommy, there are too many people on the playground.” Heidi asked Elizabeth, “Do you want to stay or go back.” Her daughter replied, “Go back.”

We departed from the school grounds and walked back towards the church.

In my distress I called upon the LORD; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.
Psalm 18:6 (ESV)

Even though I complained about being around so many people, God heard my cry. He answered me and before I knew it, we left the overwhelming crowd of spirits. Because I am sensitive to the spirit, I am able to distinguish the struggles and burdens of people. I believe this is the gift of mercy. And sometimes when I am near people, I carry those burdens and feel those struggles temporarily.

It is overwhelming and wearisome sometimes to be around people, but  I am learning how to wield this gift with guidance from God.

I rejoice because He took sight of my small complaint and carried me out and into a place with no distractions. I was then able to focus on the conversation with Heidi.

Thank you Jesus for hearing my cry, even when I did not ask, but you still wanted to comfort me. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hearing my small complaint at Through His Small Things.

meta

