An Awakening to be Real

June 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

“Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” Ephesians 5:14 (ESV)

Amanda, my friend and sister, who did Youth With A Mission with me in 2010-2011 brought an awakening Joy into my spirit. She visited me on Sunday and stayed until Thursday morning.

I am so thankful that she came to visit me because she was what I needed to wake up from my slumber. She was God’s gift to me. 

In the Dominican Republic, one of our team members commented to Joe and Heidi that they were always themselves with their family as well as when they were leading the youth and the college and career group. Heidi said that they were the same at home as well as at work. I became inspired to be real like Joe and Heidi is real to everyone. I find it hard to be real and open in front of my non-Christian friends and my family. Yet, when Amanda was here, she allowed me to open up and be myself wherever and whenever. She was very encouraging to me because she spoke with wisdom and truth.

The moment Amanda said she wanted to come up and visit me, God had explained to me that she was going to help prepare me for China. Amanda was going to awaken my spirit so I could get back into the rhythm with God. God’s plan succeeded.

God loves using people to talk to me, through every word or action that they do – I am reminded of the Love of God.

I feel like God has transformed me to be myself in front of everyone. I am myself with my church friends, with my close friends, with my non christian friends, with my family, and even with strangers. It is Christ who shines brightly into me, and it is His light who brings me Joy and Peace. 

Thank you Jesus for enabling me to be the one who you created me to be.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Awakening to be Real at Through His Small Things.

meta

