God is Love

June 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

Elena, Christina, Lyon, and I attended the Kitsilano Showboat Swing Dancing event this evening. 

I felt very stiff about going up on the stage and dancing because I was scared. Throughout the beginning of the evening, Elena gently asked me if I would like to practice dancing with her not on the stage, but on the concrete to become warmed up. I refused because I was not confident in myself at all. If anything, I was too shy to dance because there were so many spectators. Elena responded back, “That’s okay, just take your time.” Christina even asked me to dance later on, but I again refused because I felt like I couldn’t dance at all. And Elena who was sitting beside me said, “Brandon, take your time and do it when you are ready.” 

Elena’s response reminded me of Elousia from the book, The Shack by William P.Young. 

But while Mack could not stop the tears from filling his eyes, he was not ready to let go – not yet, not with this woman. With every effort he could muster, he kept himself from falling back into the black hole of his emotions. Meanwhile, this woman stood there with her arms outstretched as if they were the very arms of his mother. He felt the presence of love. It was warm, inviting, melting. “Not ready?” she responded. “That’s okay, we’ll do things on your terms and time…”

“That’s okay, we’ll do things on your terms and time”, that line strikes me with revelation. As I was sitting down and talking to Elena, I had said, “If only there was a lesson, I would learn the lesson and continue to dance afterwards.” Elena agreed that lessons generally help as icebreakers. Elena went up a few times to dance with random guys, but Christina, Lyon, and I sat around watching the brilliant swing dancers.  Christina was asked dance by a kind man named Matt. He taught her the basics and she came back to sit with us. We sat around watching until, the same man who asked Christina to dance, asked if we have ever danced before. I immediately responded with, “No I’m not good at swing dancing.” The truth was… It’s not that I wasn’t good, I just had no confidence in myself at all. Matt’s encouragement to show and teach us a few short lessons brightened my heart. I felt relieved that someone was going to teach us how to swing dance. His friend Kara was my partner, while Matt was Christina’s partner. 

We started off and learned the basics: rock step – triple step – triple step… then we went into learning the frisbee (relearning the frisbee because we’ve learned it before). One thing I can never understand is to attach the feet work with the moves so it looks smooth. Kara smiled and told me, “Just make it up.” We learned how to do the Octopus, going into the couple position, spinning out, and back into the basic form… then went into a barrel roll (which is somewhat dangerous), and then we ended with some kind of cross over our heads with our arms – I forget the move. I had a blast learning and relearning how to swing dance.

God sent someone to teach and show me how to dance, so I could dance freely and have fun. By the end of the event, I felt overjoyed that I danced on the stage with Christina because I overcame the fear with the help of God. God took an initiation and responded to my request, He loves me and wants me to not be frightened.

3 He will not let your foot slip—
    he who watches over you will not slumber;
4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The Lord watches over you—
    the Lord is your shade at your right hand;
6 the sun will not harm you by day,
    nor the moon by night.

7 The Lord will keep you from all harm—
    he will watch over your life;
8 the Lord will watch over your coming and going
    both now and forevermore.
Psalm 121:3-8 (NIV)

I love how God has been listening to  my complaints or my requests. He hears me and watches over me. It even feels like he is sitting beside me as I am typing up this post. I feel very encouraged and I hope you do too. The soft, gentle spoken words flowing out from his mouth and into my ears… He’s saying, “My son, I love you.” Warm, goosebumps, and fuzziness flows throughout my body. A soothing breath of air blowing into my spirit awakens my soul. This is peace. This is His unfailing love.

I ask myself,  “Why is God doing this for me?” A loving voice responds, “Because I love you.”
Me: Why?
Loving Voice: Because I love you.
Me: Why?
Loving Voice: Because I love you.
Me: Why?
Loving Voice: Because you’re worth it.  

Oh. So this is love. God is love and now I understand. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God is Love at Through His Small Things.

meta

