I am so Blessed!

November 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

I sprained my ankle last year in May 2012. I was bouldering at the Hive when it happened… I jumped off the rock wall which estimated to be about fifteen to twenty feet high. When I landed on the ground, I tried to roll back to absorb the falling impact, but my feet didn’t respond correctly to what I had intended to do. I heard a pop sound and instantly my left ankle rolled inward. I knew I had done something stupid and wrong, so I got up on my right foot without feeling sad or hurt and then I tried placing some weight on my left foot. Nope… I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t put any weight on my left foot. Not long after the fall, my sister helped me and I called my parents to come and pick us up to go to the Hospital. Luckily, it was only a sprain.  The hospital gave me a couple of crutches which I used for two weeks. During the two weeks of being on my crutches… I yearned to walk and run. When I came off the crutches, I did physio for 10 weeks. I felt very blessed to have limbs and to walk/run once again. 

In these past few weeks of my life, I have been struggling with my identity again. I struggle to hold on to the truth spoken into my life because I considered them not valuable. I always expect myself to be better like that person because of their athletics or strengths. I fail to recognize my own strengths when I’m comparing myself to them. This is a life lesson I continue to learn. So to push myself forward, I began to start jogging/running on a treadmill. I ran once a week ago and strained my ankle, I ran too hard… and my left ankle started to act up again. Sometimes when I walk, my ankle hurts. I have been discouraged because I want to run, I want to be in shape, but I can’t because I don’t want to hurt my ankle and make it worse. Since then, I have been resting my ankle.

So today as I looked at myself in the mirror, I felt disappointed because I didn’t look physically strong, but… I remember the time I sprained my ankle. I recall that time to be a gift from God because He showed me my strength. He showed me the importance for having two legs to walk, to run, and to jump. He made me perfectly, according to His plan for my life. I have strengths and I also have weaknesses, but I want stop focusing on my weaknesses and start focusing by giving Jesus my whole undivided attention.

I feel blessed; so blessed to be alive and to have and use every part of my body. I am encouraged. I am loved. I am perfectly made. I don’t need to strive to be someone else anymore because I have Jesus in my life.

 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. (Hebrews 12:1-2)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am so Blessed! at Through His Small Things.

meta

