The Best Sabbath Ever

January 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

was today!

I woke up this morning at 7:45 am. A prompted thought passed through my mind to phone/text a friend to wake up to come to the student ministry meeting at 8:45 am. I let go of that thought and continued with my morning. In the morning I was contemplating what I should wear and what I should bring to church. I took my time looking at myself in the mirror trying to look my best for today. I didn’t care so much for time and lost my thoughts in what I wanted people see me as this morning. I finally decided and left for a meeting this morning in which we were late. When I arrived at church with my sister, I checked my pockets for my phone but didn’t find it in its place. I was sad that I didn’t have my phone with me because I wouldn’t be able to contact anyone. My sister said something like, “You don’t need it.” Now she didn’t say that, but what she was trying to get across to me was, the world isn’t going to end, you’ll be fine. Okay… okay. So I let it go for the morning.

During the morning I had a chance to talk to Silvia and Edete after the out meeting had ended. A simple response to, “How are you doing Brandon?” I said, God has been teaching me not to worry and this morning he was saying, “Stop!. Stop looking at your phone and Look at me!” A rebuke from God was what I needed to hear and then I became convicted.

Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? Luke 12:22-26

I have been worrying and been not knowing what to do with my worries. Silvia told me to pray out Loud, “Jesus, I give you this worry of____. And I thank you for taking my worry of ____.” As she mentioned this to me, the verse 2 Corinthians 10:5 appeared in my mind, “… take captive every thought [and] make it obedient to Christ.” Already, God was working in me today, no matter how many times I messed up – he constantly forgave me.

During the Worship part of our service, I began to be reminded of and connected to God. Every Song we sang this morning moved me in a way which was healing and renewing. Heading into Community hour to hear Joe preach, I started to feel uplifted and excited for a connected message from God. Throughout his sermon my thoughts were focused from me To Jesus. I began to stop seeing myself as the centre and started to see Christ more. I asked myself three questions for God to respond to me today. 1) God how would you like me to respond to others today? 2) God tell me something about myself I don’t know. 3) God what do you want me to offer to you today? Joe was teaching us a bible verse: Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, and in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.” Later he told us How God guides us: And through 4 ways. 1) Through the Bible, 2) Through the Spirit, 3) Through each Other, 4) and through our Circumstances. During the Second way, I had a vision: I saw Jesus/Holy Spirit open a door into our hearts and he was bringing the light into our darkness. Right after, Joe mentioned about Jesus opening a door into us and walking in and living in us.

After church, there was a prayer meeting. Before the the meeting I was deciding if I should be a volunteer for Alpha held on Tuesday for Adults and college and career students (Open Door). The more I thought about it, the more I wanted to volunteer. I wanted to do more than just bring my friends. I Eventually made up my mind to be a volunteer for Alpha – at this time I was thinking to be a helper. One who listens, co facilitates, and prays. The Prayer meeting was phenomenal, I absolutely loved everything that I heard from Paul Williams and Leslie-Ann. We had a small prayer session (1 on 1), and when my prayer buddy was praying for me, I heard God’s confirmation through his prayer. To be encouraged to lead. That’s it! God responded and I am feeling willing to facilitate the Open Door table at Alpha. Listening to Leslie-Ann’s story about not knowing what to do when she was the one leading prayer and listening for God’s words of knowledge, God gave her the words and used everyone accordingly. I don’t feel ready, in fact, I feel scared, but I know that God will equip me and use me. I feel encouraged and excited to step out in faith into something I’m not generally taking part of because I am the one who likes to work behind the scenes. It’s strange, I know God is working through my life, bring me this passion to serve, to meet people and just to love them bountiful. I want to learn how to lead and be a confident leader. And in all that I do, I will point back the glory to God – He is the one who deserves our praise!

Wow. I am blown away by everything so far!

Afterwards, I went to celebrate Brian’s birthday with a few people from the church. It was relaxing to let go and chill, celebrate, talk, laugh, and rest. In the evening, Edete made dinner for us. I had a great opportunity to share what God has been doing in my life over the past couple of weeks. It’s been a long time since I had such a great spiritual and in depth conversation. I absolutely love one on ones! I shared a little bit of how God has been using me as a missionary  in my work place. During the prayer meeting and when I shared a bit of my story to Russ, Edete, and Ruth at my table. Ruth asked, “Are you fooling around at work?” I replied, “No, I love working there.” I briefly explained my role at White Spot and then she asked, “Did God call you there?” I joyfully responded, “Yes! God called me to work there and right now I’m starting to get to know the regular customers and I’m starting to see His fruit in my workplace.” She smiled and I forget what she said after that. I honestly appreciated her response to my actions and choices in my life right now. I felt like that was God saying to me, “What you are doing right now is Perfect. What you are doing right now is what I want you to do.” I wanted to cry, my spirit moved, and God gave me an answer I have been longing for… for a long time.

God I thank you for responding to me today. I thank you for giving me an amazing community, and set of friends and family members! I want to be changed by you to became a better person, to be ready and willing for your call. Help me to give me strength as temptation draws near, so that I can give you my thoughts and my everything. Wake me up to listen to your promptings and push me to do them. Jesus, I’m sorry for acting the way I have been and for making the world revolve me instead of you. I Thank you Jesus for forgiving me and dying on the cross. And I pray that you will always fill me up the Holy Spirit forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Sabbath Ever at Through His Small Things.

meta

