A friend of mine

January 30, 2014 § Leave a comment

When she first messaged me this evening, I was excited to be greeted by an old familiar face. It’s been a long time since I last spoke with my Ywam friends from Kona. I’m not the sort of person who intentionally updates them about my life, unless I ask them to be my accountability partners. It is a reminder to stay in touch with them and when an opportunity comes, to pray for and with them.

At this moment, my friend is struggling in her relationship with God. She feels distant from Him and is waiting to be “reignited into a flame with a burning passion.” I can sense a yearning within her soul to be close to God once again. Despite the many obstacles blocking her way, I know that God will break them down to be with her.

The Lord is righteous in all his ways and faithful in all he does. The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. He fulfills the desires of those who fear him; he hears their cry and saves them. Psalm 145: 17-18

I’ve been lost multiple times before on my walk with God, not knowing where he is… I have felt burnt out and very distant from him, although, I know to this day that I was never alone. He never left my side and he never will. For I know there’s a steady fire burning inside my soul, one who can rekindle her fire with the help of Jesus Christ. I’m not hoping to dump all the oil onto her so she burns brightly for a short while, but I’m praying that God will be sufficient to provide a fire for her to last for eternity.

Just having my friend’s face pop up in my head brings back many wonderful memories. Memories that we made in Kona and in Dalian. She was very passionate, connected to Jesus, and a powerful intercessor with wonderful gifts being used to glorify God and encouraging the body. These memories are like the promises he will fulfill again. All that is left is to balance life and God – When she finds the centre, she will start her climb back up to God. 

I love how certain people (old friends) and familiar words come to my mind, I receive these wonderful flashbacks to remember. Sometimes these flashback bring my joy, and sometimes they bring me sorrow; However, no matter what sort of feeling I receive from these memories, they are all but a gift from God. My growth has been long and hard, but I will keep on walking to strengthen my relationship with the Lord. I’m excited for the new challenges that lay ahead and the new fruit that will bloom.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A friend of mine at Through His Small Things.

meta

