Ask and you shall receive…

March 12, 2014 § Leave a comment

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.
Matthew 7:7 (NIV)

Last week I thought it was time to ask my general manager to train me as a Carhop or an In-charge, so I went up to him asking if he could train me. He said, “We don’t need any Carhops right now, but we will train you sometime soon.” I said, “Oh, okay, well… is there any chance you could train me as an In-charge then?” He said, “Yes, we can train you as an In-charge, but first you need to be trained as a Carhop.”

How exciting is that?! So sometime soon I’ll get the opportunity to be trained throughout all the jobs in this Restaurant – at Whitespot.

On Saturday, I heard from a co-worker that a person in the Carhop just sent in her 2 weeks for leaving. This was a few days after I had asked my general manager to train me.

Monday night came around and another manager came up to me. She said, “So Brandon, you will have 5 training shifts for Carhop, 5 training shifts for serving, then you will take some time to be trained throughout the kitchen.” I didn’t realize I would be trained so soon! All throughout the night I was saying, “This is exciting! I’m so stoked to be trained, but also scared to work in the kitchen.” My heart practically jumped out of my body due to my excitement! My manager told me that I didn’t need to worry about working in the kitchen as I would be training with another one who would teach me. Cool. She told me her experiences, “You just have to make toast. Pretty much after that, they want you to leave the kitchen because they don’t want you to make any mistakes.” I felt relieved. That night, I also  learned a little bit on how to promo food items on the computers. She also told me that I would have start at 8 am on Thursday to learn how to run the floor as a manager, before my 9 am hosting shift.

I feel ready to move up, to learn more, and to bring the joyous love of God into the restaurant as an In-charge. Every day I work at Whitespot is a day filled with God’s joy. Every breath I breathe to greet the customers and ask them how they are doing fills my day with so much more fullness. Every table that I clean is a prayer to keep on praying for the people at and who come to this restaurant. These are the seats where God’s creation are coming to eat, to share stories, to work, to laugh, to hang out, and to one day know their creator. I’m bringing one step forward in his kingdom. It’s through my actions of love, thoughtfulness, kindness, and joy that reaches out to the people who come to Whitespot.  Wow. These thoughts and these gifts bring me so much Revelation. It’s like my mind is unable to comprehend what is going on, yet it knows, and it sees and believes… I’m in awe of The Lord’s glorious work in my life right now.

A friend and co-worker said to me, “You better not get stuck here in that position.”  I told her, “I don’t plan to. I made a 2-3 year commitment with God because after this I want to work somewhere else. I want to work with new people and show Christ to them. I want to live in China for 2-5 years and work there.” These next couple of years will go by quickly, but I have a feeling God will do much more than He already has for this place. I’m only one of His servants working in the darkness of this place, one light to shine and bring his kingdom down – He will bring his light to all and his freedom to those who don’t believe in him yet. He will bring His salvation upon my workplace in Jesus’ name.

I’m ready. I’m taking a leap of faith. I’m placing all my trust in You, God, knowing that you will lift me up and take me across this chasm, aiding me safely to the other side.  I asked and You answered me. I made myself bold, and You faithfully made me shine. — Holy Spirit, may your grace overflow me, so that I can continue to bring your Love into my workplace. Give me your Joy to bring me strength to keep persevering through the darkness. Help me to walk in surrender just like Jesus did. Give me wisdom and knowledge for the hard difficulties ahead. Protect me and seal your precious truth within my heart, soul, and mind. I pray this all in the powerful name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ask and you shall receive… at Through His Small Things.

meta

