Keep the door open for Me

March 26, 2017 § Leave a comment

I was walking to my practicum yesterday morning, when I noticed and felt that someone was walking very close to me. I picked up the pace and as I was passing through a building, a sudden thought arose in my mind to keep the door open for the person behind me. I pushed the door open with my hand as I walked into the building, however, little did I know that the man who was walking behind me was carrying a huge ladder on his shoulders. He shouted, “Hey you, I know you can’t hear me because you are wearing headphones, but can you open the door for me?” I turned around and walked back outside the door, and held it open for him.

The reason why I am sharing this story is because it represents how attentive I am in listening to the Holy Spirit. I am the person who hears, but only pushes the door slightly open to make little space for the person behind me to slide in. Although, what God was showing to me is that I could be the person who listens, and takes some time out of my day to stand by the door, and hold it wide open for whoever else was following me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keep the door open for Me at Through His Small Things.

meta

